I Heart Makati Photo Contest

June 9-19, 2010
Ayala Center, Makati Central Business District

I ♥ Makati. I ♥ the Philippines. I ♥ being free

I Heart Makati, a one-of-a-kind photo competition that took place at the very heart of Makati. With free registration and a photography pass to shoot inside the Makati Central Business District, this event was not to be missed.

Participated by photo hobbyists and enthusiasts, and of course, the professional photographers, as well as being judged by Ayala Land, Pinoy Photography.Org, and Mr John Chua, this sure was one tough photo competition. For me personally, coming here was mostly for the rare opportunity to take stock shots; the competition, for the most part, was just at the back of my head.

Categories:

Architecture, Landscape, and Skyline category
Business
Lifestyle

Architecture, Landscape, Skyline

Entry # 1 – Overlooking view of Makati Avenue and Ayala Triangle Gardens

Overlooking view of Makati Avenue and Ayala Triangle Gardens

The evening rush, the night garden, the gloomy cloudy sky, the random building lights, the colors, the contrast of darks and lights, the feel of height – I’ve got to say taking shot at the location is breath-taking, urban style! Lucky me this earned the 2nd runner up seat. yeah boy! View post here

Entry # 2 – Manila Peninsula

The Peninsula - Manila

The fountain, the cascading water, the bright lights, the earth tones on the hotel building, the nature feel of the greenery – all these make the Manila Peninsula an awesome site during the night time hours. Taking the shot dead center at long exposure and you get this.

Entry # 3 – The Columns

The Columns Makati

I figured most of the building shots would most likely be RCBC, GT Tower, and other prominent high-rise buildings along Ayala. Just to be a little off from the usual, I’ve taken this shot of The Columns, along the Ayala-Buendia intersection. This kind of reminds me of Voltes 5 as well.

Lifestyle

Coming into the submission day, I haven’t really thought of any possible shots that could fit into this category. A quick scan through all the photos and I’ve come across these. Well, I ain’t got anything to lose if I’d submit some more entries. So here they are.

Entry # 1 – Parking slot number 72 along Leviste Street

LVT 72

Going to office in Makati on wheels for a short period of time and you’d most likely park in one of these slots
along some of the streets inside the Makati Central Business Dsitrict.

Entry # 2 – Cigarette butts

Cigarette buts

In the morning, lunchtime, cigarette breaktime (of course), evening, late hours, there would always be smokers at the corners, outside of food chains, at the side streets, outside of the office buildings, etcetera.


Other related posts

I Heart Makati, On the Spot Photos – Portraits

I Heart Makati, On the Spot Photos - Portraits
I Heart Makati, On the Spot Photos - Portraits
I Heart Makati, On the Spot Photos - Portraits

I Heart Makati, On the Spot Photos – Animals

I Heart Makati, On the Spot Photos - Animals
I Heart Makati, On the Spot Photos - Animals
I Heart Makati, On the Spot Photos - Animals

I Heart Makati Building Shots

I Heart Makati Building Shots
I Heart Makati Building Shots
I Heart Makati Building Shots
Leave a Reply

